top of page
2022-23 Executive board

nhsaa president

Mr. Russell Holden

Phone: (603) 763-4627


Russ graduated from Springfield College in Springfield, MA in 1987 with a bachelor’s degree in Physical Education. He received his master’s degree in Educational Leadership in 1994 from Fitchburg College in Massachusetts. He then went on to receive his Certificate of Advanced Graduate Studies (CAGS) from Plymouth State College in 2010 and in 2019, he completed the AASA national Superintendent Certification Program. 


Russ began his career at the Lighthouse School in Chelmsford, MA. His first public school administrative position was in Rochester, NH as the assistant principal at Spaulding High School. He then went on to work as school principal for Alton Central School K-12 and was the first principal at Prospect Mountain High School. Russ also served as the principal of Belmont High School and spent one year in Camden and Rockport, ME as the Assistant Superintendent before returning to New Hampshire to become Superintendent of the Sunapee School District where he has continued to serve for the last nine years.  


Russ has received several awards of recognition for his professional successes. He was awarded 2007 NH Principal of the year, NH Principal of the year from NH Music Association, was identified by the Union Leader “40 Under Forty” people who make a difference, and was recognized by the Christa McAuliffe Teacher Award Program.  


Russ is also involved with many different educational professional organizations. He has served as an NHSAA Executive Board Member for many years before becoming President. In addition, he has worked with the AASA, NHIAA, and NHSPA throughout his career.


In his spare time, Russ enjoys being outdoors fishing and hunting. He has three children Joshua, Makenzy and Emma who all enjoy spending time together at his family home on the south shore of Nova Scotia. 


Throughout his career, Russ’ work has always been informed by his belief that education is the starting point that will help each student achieve their own optimal life success. 

nhsaa president elect

Esther Asbell 

Phone: (603) 775-8400


Associate Superintendent, SAU #16

Screen Shot 2021-07-22 at 9.49.26 AM.png
Screen Shot 2022-06-22 at 11.54.03 AM.png

nhsaa vice-president 

Dr. Ronna HasBrouck

Phone: (603) 636-1437


Superintendent, SAU #58

Carl Ladd 3.jpg

Executive director/treasurer

Dr. Carl M. Ladd

Phone: 1 (866) 753-4479


Dr. Ladd earned his Bachelor of Science and teaching certification from Lyndon State College, a Master of Education with honors from Norwich University and a Certificate of Advanced Graduate Studies from Plymouth State University, both specializing in Educational Leadership. In 2010, he earned his Doctorate in Education from Argosy University with a specialization in Educational Leadership. In 1996, Dr. Ladd was named a Harry S. Truman Scholar National Finalist.

Dr. Ladd has been a teacher of students in grades 6-12 and at the graduate school level. He has served as an assistant principal and principal at the elementary and middle school levels and as a Superintendent of Schools in both New Hampshire and Massachusetts. In addition, Dr. Ladd served as a school board member for eight years, of which seven were as chairperson. He was named the 2014 NH Superintendent of the Year. He is the Executive Director of the New Hampshire School Administrators Association. Carl and his wife Michele, an elementary teacher at Abbot-Downing Elementary School, reside in Concord, NH.

Frew Jerry 2018_crop.jpg

Associate Executive Director

Mr. Jerry Frew

Phone: (603) 225-3230


Jerry Frew has worked as an educator in New Hampshire for over 47 years. A proud product of New Hampshire public schools, Frew earned his Bachelor of Science Degree from Plymouth State (College) University, and his MA in Educational Administration and Supervision from the University of New Hampshire.

He has taught and coached at the high school level, been an Assistant Principal and Principal at the high school and middle school levels and been an Assistant Superintendent and Superintendent of Schools. In 1979, he was named the Hudson School District Teacher of the Year, and the following year was honored as the recipient of the Dedication of the Yearbook by the Senior Class. In addition, in 2008 he was awarded the James Desmarais Outstanding Service Award in recognition of his 25 years of service to the New Hampshire Interscholastic Athletic Association, and in 2014-15, he was named the New Hampshire’s “Superintendent of the Year” by the NHSAA.

Mr. Frew served  on the Executive Board of the NH Association of School Principals, followed by service on the Executive Board of the NHSAA where he spent 6 years representing NH on the Governing Board of the American Association of School Administrators.

Serving since 2018 as the Associate Executive Director of the New Hampshire School Administrators Association, Jerry lives in Concord, NH with his wife Joan of 48 years.

Pomykato Jenn.jpg

student support center director

Ms. Jennifer Pomykato

Phone: (603) 225-3230


Jennifer Pomykato joined NHSAA as the Director of the Student Success Center in 2015 after more than 30 years in public education. Following a successful teaching career as a high school and elementary special education teacher, Jennifer served for six years as an elementary assistant principal and then as an SAU Administrator and Director of Student Services for the next decade. During her distinguished career as a district-level administrator, Jenn earned professional recognition for her contributions to children and families.


As a highly respected professional, Jennifer was elected to the executive board of the NH Special Education Administrators Association, serving as president, vice president and treasurer. Additionally, Jenn served as regional chair of the Seacoast Special Education Directors for eight years and continues to be an active participant in a variety of local and statewide committees.

bottom of page